News:

oh god how did this get here I am not good with computer

Main Menu

Electric Keyboards?

Started by Altissimo, April 11, 2016, 05:37:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Altissimo

so im thinking about asking for an electric keyboard/piano/whateverthefuck for a graduating present. All I know is I want one with 88 keys but i know jack shit about keyboards, can anyone recommend me which ones are dabes

FallenPianist

I have a Yamaha Portable Grand, one of the older models (DGX-530). It sounds nice (with headphones) and the keys have a nice feel. I got it for pretty cheap too, but the best is to go out and try some and pick one you like.

Latios212

What are you planning to use it for? I have access to normal pianos (home and school) so I mostly have my keyboard in my room for arranging and testing things out while arranging. The keys aren't that weighted so it doesn't feel like enough like a normal piano (I wouldn't perform on it) but it's great for trying out certain parts of songs I'm arranging to see if they'd be viable to play. I have a Yamaha YPG-235 keyboard (76 keys) and it suits my needs just fine.

But if you're going to go all out on it you'll probably need a more expensive (and heavier) one haha
My arrangements and YouTube channel!

Quote from: Dudeman on February 22, 2016, 10:16:37 AM
who needs education when you can have WAIFUS!!!!!

Spoiler
[close]
turtle

Altissimo

i want to play actual piano music lol. maybe arrange

Pianist Da Sootopolis

If you're looking to practice piano music (especially classical) you're going to need 88 keys, with a weighted and touch sensitive action; these start cheapest around $450.
I have the http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-Series-P35B-88-Key-Digital/dp/B009CN8WZ6Yamaha P35, and it's okay for what it is; however, there are still definitely better keyboards out there. Newer Yamaha models especially.
You'll also likely have to buy a stand, which for anything actually decent can be another $50-$100.